Humans of Earth: Just Be Nice

 

Kindness

My 5th grade teacher, Mrs. Redman, would get so upset at the use of the word “nice” that spittle would run from the corner of her mouth. Of course, she had anger issues, and I always wondered if she should have been in a teacher in the first place. Her hatred of children was obvious, and I don’t think I was the only student to feel a sense of dread walking into her class each day.

But I am getting away from the point I intended to, well, point out.

Why can’t people just be nice?

I subscribe to the attitude; “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

But, most people don’t see it that way, because all over the internet, I see hate filled comments that rightly never should have been spoken. From a troll on Twitter telling a woman posting about the pain and anguish of her rape that she “should be raped again, and this time killed, so she can’t talk anymore”, to someone berating another for using “your” instead of “you’re” in a sentence on Facebook.

Why do humans feel the need to be mean to one another?

Do you know how much more pleasant this world would be if people would choose their words carefully and be nice?

This is not something new I have been thinking about, but being on Twitter and seeing people say the most hateful things because they are anonymous has brought it to the forefront of my mind again.

Martin Luther King Jr said: “Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or in the darkness of destructive selfishness.” If we were truly altruistic, or cared about the welfare of others, we would be generous and agreeable. But most people choose to walk in selfishness and be negative to one another.

When I was a younger man, you could say I was somewhat of a hateful person. But I changed. People can change. Now I chose to “kill people with kindness” with the exception of a few slip-ups when I am in rush-hour traffic and someone cuts me off and almost kills me and my family. Yes I feel anger; I am human. But choosing not to force that anger on another person makes me a better human.

I have said before, I don’t like to debate. This is because, often in a debate, one person starts to see that his or her side is not such an intelligent stance and resorts to mud-slinging to prove some kind of point. That is why I don’t often write about controversial subjects, because if someone doesn’t agree with me, they tend to express their displeasure with a rude comment. I never mind a little constructive criticism; I am under no illusions that everything I say is correct, but there is no reason to be rude when you correct my lapses in judgment.

So, people, when someone is rude to you: be nice. If someone cuts in front of you at Burger King: be nice. When you feel a strong urge to troll someone, don’t: just be nice. If a woman turns down your advances, don’t rape them: be nice.

Let’s make this world a happier place to live in.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

