8 Short-Term Goals I Will Put into Practice. Number 6 is Very Important

When I was younger and enmeshed in the corporate world, I used to have a planner to keep track of my goals. I had it broken down into Long-Term Goals, Medium-Term Goals and Short-Term Goals.

I realized the other day that I don’t keep track of my goals anymore. That is because the only goal I had was to survive each day. I have been just floating through my days, trying to make it to bedtime without any major meltdowns.

I found this wonderful new tool to keep track of your lists and ideas called WunderList, and have been working on building my goals again. I don’t have much filled in yet, but I wanted to share what I had for short-term goals.

  1. See my Psychiatrist and get some better medications for my anxiety and depression. I have an appointment on the 7th of this month and I am going to lay down the law with her. She has not been aggressive enough with the medication and I am going to get something that works for my anxiety. Most of my depression comes from the fact that I am anxious all the time and prone to panic attacks, so I think if I can get some relief from the anxiety the depression will fall into place.
  2. Get a referral to a good therapist. I realized the only person I haven’t asked about a therapist is my doctor. I am going to start seeing a therapist this month because I am convinced that trying to deal with my problems without some kind of therapy is madness.
  3. Purchase the Authority ROI package from DigitalMarketer.com. I am an internet-marketing junkie and subscribe to many websites promising to help you build a successful blog that makes money, and I think I have finally found the one course that will work. It’s a month-long course with the promise of your own blog set up for success after 30 days. It’s also on special for $140, so it’s a bargain compared to the many so-called “successful” internet marketing guru’s programs. I did a lot of research on this and think this is the best one for me.
  4. Launch my website in two months. I think this is plenty of time to build my blog using WordPress. I think most of the time is going to be spent customizing the theme so it looks and acts like I want it to.
  5. Don’t expect success overnight. Work at it every day. Success comes from a lot of hard and smart work, and I am agonizing over my schedule to free up time to put some serious work into this project. I am getting my wife a helper so she can have help with her work while I work on mine with no interruptions.
  6. When I’m not working, spend quality time with my wife and daughter. I am not going to make the same mistakes I made earlier in my life. My little family deserves my complete attention daily. No internet, laptops, smart-phones or TV, just my complete attention to their needs.
  7. Start walking for at least an hour every day. I have kind of got out of this habit recently, even though I know regular exercise is great for my physical and mental health. It’s also a great time to spend with my daughter.
  8. Have fun. Very important, but often overlooked, I am going to spend some time just having fun with my family. We have a beach 20 minutes from our house, and we all love going there, so that will probably be one of the things we do on a regular basis.

I am planning on adding more to this list in the next couple of days, but I think this is a good start. I still need to work on my medium and long term goals and I promise to share when I finish.

Do you keep a to-do list? What would you add to mine that you think is important?

 

 

4 thoughts on “8 Short-Term Goals I Will Put into Practice. Number 6 is Very Important

  1. I really don’t want to talk about my To Do lists (too depressing) but I love yours. Walking is so good for thought processes, and creativity, too! I’m also very glad to see an apparent shift in attitude towards your care – asking the psychiatrist to give you the sort of meds you want, seeking out a therapist. All good stuff. Best wishes to you.

      • Yes sirree! I most certainly do.

        I see a psychotherapist twice a week. It’s a big commitment, but I really want to see changes in my health; and I think I’ll continue after I’m past this crisis (though maybe not twice a week) because I’m one of those people who believes that an unexamined life is not worth living. I believe psychotherapy is helping me understand and transform the bedrock of my personal psychology. I could write pages, but I’m not sure how much info you want.

        I’ve been doing this for some years, and I believe it is helping me – but not in the same way that medication or the more skills-based therapies do; in a subtler, deeper way, but in a very real way. I personally can see and feel the differences within me.

        Let me know if you want more info.

Leave a Reply

