Some Quick Thoughts About Writing for the Web

I haven’t been writing as much as I normally do because I’ve been busy learning as much as I can about writing for the web. It’s amazing the information you can find on the interweb about any subject you want. I have been learning so much.

I think all bloggers should do a little research about how to make their blog posts more readable and user-friendly. One article I found was on the site Problogger, “How to craft a blog post – 10 crucial points to pause.” Read it, this guy really knows what he is talking about.

I think the biggest takeaway I have gotten from my research is to write like you talk. I always worry my writing skills are never good enough, but I’ve learned that how I write is how people like to read on the web. It’s very different than writing a novel or short story. No need for big words and flowery prose, just write as if you were having a conversation with someone. I always try to write like I am trying to connect with someone, like they are right in front of me. In fact, when I am writing I picture someone in my mind, a reader, and talk to them. It works out pretty well, I think people really appreciate it.

If anyone wants to learn more about how to write for the web, I am taking a class for it. It’s free and it starts on the 24th. You can find out more information about it at Open2study.com, the class is called “writing for the web.” I think it lasts for about a month.

Let me know if any of this helped you, or resources you have found while surfing the net.

Leave a Reply

