7 easy ways to combat depression that work for me

Are you just relying on your medication to fix your depression? Anti-depressants can only do so much, you have to put a little work into it too.

I have found a few things that work for me. Come up with your own list and tape it to the wall somewhere where you will see it often.

Here is just a few of the things on my list that work for me:

  1. Wake up in the morning, look in the mirror and smile – It’s hard to beat the amazing power of a smile. Don’t fake it, make it genuine.
  2. Do something special for yourself – Commit to doing one thing that day to pamper yourself: get a massage, a pedicure, make and eat your favorite breakfast, buy flowers for yourself, soak in a hot bath, have some great sex (you can do this even if you don’t have a partner). Do something nice for yourself, just because you deserve it.
  3. Take a short walk around the neighborhood – Sometimes when I am feeling down, I put the baby in the stroller and take a nice little 30 minute walk. It’s awesome what a little exercise will do for your mood.
  4. Talk to someone about how you are feeling – Talk to your spouse or parents. If no one is around to jabber with, jump into a chat room and talk to a stranger.
  5. Write a blog post about all the positive things in your life – I haven’t done this one in a while, but it really does work. If you don’t have a blog, write a few positive things down in a notebook.
  6. Watch a funny movie or TV show – I don’t have a television, but I often will sit down with my little one a watch a cartoon or two.
  7. Get plenty of sleep – I need to practice what I preach, because I am sitting here at 1am writing this. If you don’t sleep enough at night, take a quick nap during the day.

I have plenty more of these quick fixes for a depressive mood. Pick one or two and try them out and see if they work for you. If not, think of your own things that make you feel a little better and write them down for future reference.

What do you do to lighten your mood a bit when you are depressed? Please leave a comment and let me know.

 

5 thoughts on “7 easy ways to combat depression that work for me

  1. Good advice for pretty well everybody. I find exercise of any kind – getting the heartbeat up for at least 20 minutes and breaking a sweat – does wonders for my mood. Must be all those endorphins….

  2. It’s just so important not to rely solely on antidepressants to treat your depression. I’ve just been having a conversation with the lovely elliedodge about this exact topic. I think there’s a three pronged approach: medication (to give you the breathing space to stay alive and be capable of doing the other things); other strategies to manage symptoms (which include things like your list above, mindfulness, and – in my case – group therapy); and other, “deep” therapy, to deal with those things in my past which have settled into my psyche and brought about maladaptive habits of thought and behaviour which exacerbate my depression. For me, I’ve chosen psychodynamic psychotherapy for the latter. I see all three as equally important in the struggle against the black dog.

    • Has group therapy been helpful to you? I use to do a lot of “group”, but I never felt like it did me any good, it always turned into a rant session for everyone, and I never felt like I got anything from it.

      Thanks for your comment, I always learn something new from you.

      • The group I’m in at the moment is great – well, it was until last week, when there was an Incident 🙂 but I was getting a lot out of it until then. It was a DBT group, with lots of homework, so I guess you get out what you put in to a certain extent. I’ve been in other groups which were a complete waste of time.

Leave a Reply

