Goodbye Fast-Food, I’m Leaving You For a Computer

Fast-Food

I worked in fast-food for most of my young life. When you don’t even have a high school education, there are not many fields of work to choose from.

I got my first job in food when I was 16 years old. I had just left school so I could help support my family, and Burger King was one of the only places that even considered hiring me.

It’s not rocket science, so it didn’t take a long time of applying myself before I was promoted to assistant manager at 18. I was good at fast-food because I took my job seriously and applied myself and learned everything I could about the business.

Over my late teens and early 20s, I changed jobs to chase a few extra dollars on my paycheck and it wasn’t long before I was making decent money for my age. In addition to Burger King, I worked at Little Caesars Pizza, Pizza Hut, Taco Bell and many others. I had a good resume and track record so I could pretty much get any job I wanted.

But working fast-food is a very hard job. When you are salaried management, they work you as many hours as they can to save labor. Back when I was in college, it was normal for me to work 70 to 80 hours per week. After so many years of that, I was fairly burned out on the food industry so when I finished college, I started looking around for something else, something to do with computers.

My first non-food job was working for Iomega doing technical support. I took a massive pay cut to work there, but I was working with computers and I didn’t go home smelling like burritos every night. But, Iomega was just a stepping stone. The whole time I was teaching myself web design and looking for a job in the field.

My first web design job was at Intel working on their web sites. I was making about $30, 000 a year, which was pretty good for an entry-level designer, but, as I learned from fast-food, the only way to move up and make more money was to learn about the business and apply myself.

A few years later I was making $120, 000 a year as a manager of a team of designers. I was back working 80 hours a week, but the money more than made up for it.

That is the story of how I went from flipping burgers to making six-figures a year.

++++++

This post is in response to the Daily Posts’ Daily Prompt: If You Leave. We were asked to write about:

Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?

Leave a Reply

