My Little Piece of Heaven in the Philippines

Iloilo CityAt first glance, Iloilo City is just like any other city in the Philippines. But once you live here for a while, you begin to see the differences.

When I first moved to the Philippines, I lived in a Province named Cavite. It was horrible there: too many people, too much trash, no beaches. It was like a small version of Manila (the butthole of the Philippines), and Manila is a hideous city. If you ever visit the Philippines, you have to fly into Manila, and I implore you to get out as quick as you can and explore the countryside.

You may come across a gem like Iloilo City: clean, beautiful and full of great people. Sure it’s hot and humid here year-around, but that’s why you come to the tropics.

The beach is just a half-hour drive from where I live on the outskirts of the city, and we go there often to swim, eat and drink plenty of Red Horse Beer.

But I think if I had to pick a reason to come to Iloilo, I would say it’s because of the wonderful people who live here. They have a hard life, but still they always have a smile for you as you walk by. They appreciate life because it is so hard, and enjoy themselves when they are not working. They are also very family-oriented, and always spend a lot of quality time with all their relatives.

But there are a few bad things about Iloilo City and the Philippines in general.

Iloilo City Traffic

The drivers here are terrible. I always hear people talk about their own cities and how bad the drivers are, but I’m serious when I say, they are truly dreadful here. It’s amazing to me that there are not that many accidents here considering the quality of driving skills these people possess.

I could also talk about the poverty here, but any big city in the world will have those kind of problems.

I’ve lived in a lot of places in my life, but it took flying 8500 miles to find a place where I truly feel like I am at home.

++++++

This post was in to The Daily Posts’ Daily Prompt: We Built This City, where we were asked to write about:

What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

Leave a Reply

