An Amazing Achievement: A Day That Didn’t Suck

Today I did three things that usually turn me into a blubbering crazy idiot:

  • I drove through rush-hour traffic for hours
  • I went to the immigration office
  • I went to the mall and just walked around to kill time.

But a weird thing happened: I didn’t freak out at all.

When I woke up this morning, I felt different. I don’t know if it was my new medication, or I was just feeling optimistic. I knew I had a lot to do today, but it didn’t scare me. I was ready to get out there and get shit done.

Sure, I was feeling a lot of anxiety, but I didn’t let it poison my thoughts. Every time I felt the anxiety rise up in me, I just took some deep breaths and continued with what I was doing.

I can’t remember that last time I had this good of a day.

My biggest hope right now is that this positive phase lasts for a while, because I decided that I was going to spend the money and sign up for the copywriting course. I am going to start it tomorrow. I don’t know how long it will take me, but some positive feelings sure would help the process of learning to be more fruitful.

Writing that post about my college days really got me excited to be learning something new again. I hope I can do as good on this course as I did when I was in school. I know I am definitely going to put my best effort into it and get my money’s worth.

I want to feel the joy I feel when I learn something new and am a success at it. I haven’t felt it for so long.

So don’t hate me if my posts from now on are a little more upbeat than usual. I am sure I will have bad days, but I am going to try my best to work through it.

How long has it been since you had a “good” day? Tell me about it in a comment.

 

2 thoughts on “An Amazing Achievement: A Day That Didn’t Suck

  1. The mall! A good day even with a trip to the mall! Yay!

    Can’t remember my last great day, though if I could be bothered I’m sure a flick through posts would reveal it. I do know that today got better, which is a huge relief, because it started out so terribly.

  2. Such great news! Don’t question the Universe why you didn’t freak out at what would have otherwise sent you sideways. Embrace it. If we get one day to fee good, love every second of it. I do believe positivity morphs into more of the same, and helps us when we get knocked back down to the gutter. It’s funny you almost apologizing for writing a good post,..”don’t hate me if my posts from now on are a little more upbeat than usual…”. I know how this feels. When I started having days I felt positive and wanted to write about it, I was afraid that my “peeps” would turn against me, and that I could no longer be part of the group. I didn’t want to lose anyone because they are what got me through the hard times, and I will still need to see encouragement from when I fall. But what I find is, those people are encouraged, and feel hope that they’ll have good days too. I’m so proud of the work you’re doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

