The Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project

Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”  

I have been meaning for a long time now to throw my hat into The Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project

I have been dealing with mental health problems in one form or another for my whole life. It’s only recently I started writing down my feelings for the world to see, and it’s been very helpful to my recovery. It’s been only two months, but I’ve felt myself grow a little each time I expel one of my inner demons.

I was going to sit here and write down my life story, but that would take forever, and I think if you dig through my archives, I have covered most of it. Instead, I will tell you a little bit of how I am feeling now.

I am 45 years old, and I have been dealing with mental health issues since I was sexually abused as a child. I have 4 children: 3 boys who live in the U.S., and a girl who lives here with me in the Philippines. I am married to a wonderful woman who tries to help me every day, even though she has a hard time understanding my issues.

You would think I would be able to successfully deal with my mental health problems after all this time, but I still live with the hell of mental illness every day. I fight against depression, anxiety, paranoia, racing thoughts, panic attacks, voices and suicidal thoughts, and it only seems to get worse. I take a lot of psych medications, but they don’t work as well as I would like them to.

This blog is my only form of therapy, so I write with as much honesty as possible.

So, to learn even more, here is some suggested reading:

I am very excited to be a part of this project and do my part to destroy the stigma surrounding mental illness.

Please follow me on Twitter: @SchizoIncognito

One thought on “The Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project

  1. Pingback: Schizo Incognito | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Leave a Reply

