A few very short thoughts on God, religion and faith

Imagine there is no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people
Living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion, too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

Imagine – John Lennon

There is no label that defines how I feel about God and religion. I’m not a Christian or an Atheist, I am somewhere in-between. I don’t think badly of anyone if they choose to worship God or not. I think everyone should be allowed to believe how they choose.

I started thinking about this last night, after my wife got mad at me because I wouldn’t pray. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it, not even for my wife and daughter. For some reason, this episode has been causing me an extreme amount of anxiety; enough anxiety to make me lose sleep.

It’s not that I don’t believe in God; I do. I guess you can just say I have lost my faith in Him and any religion that claims to represent Him.

I haven’t always been a faithless heathen. I grew up in a Christian environment. I had religion force-fed to me every day of my young life. I had no choice; my decisions were made for me. I even returned to my religion for a short time as an adult, but I did it for all the wrong reasons.

I have many reasons for my loss of faith, but the main one is because if there is a God up there somewhere, he sure does allow a lot of suffering. I don’t believe like some that God is the cause of this suffering; I just don’t believe he cares enough about puny humans to do anything about it. How can I have faith in someone who ignores the teenage girl who cuts herself to feel better for a short time, or the man who attempts to kill himself because he feels hopeless and sees no other way out? What about the cancer patient who prays every night for help, but still lives in agony every day? What about the child who goes to bed hungry every night and lives in a cardboard box under the overpass?

God may not have caused bad things to happen to humans, but He is sure not in a hurry to help either.

And please, don’t get me started on religion. Too much bad has been done in the name of a religion to justify their existence.

I have more reasons for my lack of faith in God and religion, but it will have to wait for another day when I am not feeling so much anxiety about talking about it. So, go to your church and worship God as you see fit, or go through life not believing in anything. It’s your choice, and above all, I believe in choice.

What do you believe? Please leave a comment and tell me, I am very interested in hearing what my fellow bloggers have to say.

Oh, and follow me on Twitter please: @SchizoIncognito.

11 thoughts on “A few very short thoughts on God, religion and faith

  1. I’m on the fence with you. The thing about faith and belief is that you can’t fake it – you have it or you don’t. And sometimes no matter how much you want to believe, you can’t wish it into existence. I could go on all day on this topic, but I won’t – but I think you may have inspired a future post that I should write.

  2. Ohhhh. I love hot topics like this and you may want to search some of my posts with the words “spirituality” or “religion” for a more in depth views.

    My beliefs are complex. I believe in some sort of higher power. I believe some rituals give me peace. I enjoy reading most spiritual works especially the pillars of the religions: bible, Torah, Koran, bhavada Gita, Tao te Ching, analects of confusicus, etc. please excuse my spelling ignorance. I also enjoy reading philosophical works and stuff on science. Knowledge is power and blind allegiance is no true belief in my book.

    I have a hard time with spiritual communities (aka church, mosque, bible groups, yoga or meditation classes, etc) many are cliquey and very generalized as not too offend anyone or very strict with no room to question. I’ve had many bad experiences done to me by people in the name of one God or another. I respect and love learning about listening to others beliefs but if you threaten me, bully me, or infantilize me I will shut down. I don’t force my beliefs on others, but love having civilized discussions about beliefs, faith, spirituality and all that.

    • Thanks Marci for your input on this delicate subject…sorry I haven’t replied to you sooner, but I have been really out of it…

      Its interesting to be to see what others believe….thanks for your comment!

  3. Just know that you’re not alone in all the confusion on God, faith, blah blah blah . . .Yeah, I’ll write about that one day, too. Sometimes, when i really really want it, I believe with my whole heart, because I believe THEN and only then will “God” show himself and finally DO something about all the pain in the world. After about 17 hours of really believing I give up and say, “Ok, ya had yer chance!” Then I go back to being really really pissed about it all. Thanks a LOT for bringing it up, haha! Feel better .

      • BTW: Please don’t pay attention to my comment too much. I get a little “cheeky” when it comes to talking about God. I want to believe. Just so many disappointments. But that doesn’t mean YOU shouldn’t keep searching for answers. (Just promise me you let me know if you get it figured out 🙂

  4. I love a god debate!! I did philosophy for a A-Level and I absolutely loved it! Basically, what you are describing is the ‘Problem of Evil’ debate in philosophy; how can god be omnibenevolent if there is evil and suffering in the world?
    My personal answer is this:
    1. When we go through personal hardships it teaches us virtues like compassion, love, kindness etc.
    2. It teaches us that we should help our fellow brothers and sister in humanity when natural disasters happen.
    3. It teaches us to be positive about every situation because learn lessons that we wouldn’t have learnt if we didn’t go through this hardship. E.g. Friendship
    4. That we are human, things will happen to us but it will only affect us if we let it affect us. For example when someone close dies a person can do two things (1) cry and let the grief consume them or (2) get help and move on.
    5. It shapes your character and personality
    I have been though many hardships in the past and the only thing that has helped me though these tough times has been my faith and my belief in God. I am a devout Muslim and there are so many lessons that we learn in Islam about the problem of evil argument, not just from a philosophical perspective but also from a personal one too. The prophets in the Quran (Muslims holy book) which are the same in the bible too when though loads of hardships such as death and abuse. One of the main themes that we learn throughout the Quran is patience because patience is part of imaan (belief). This now feels like an essay so I will write a post about this one day and send it to you.

    • Thank you for putting down for me what you believe….I love hearing differing viewpoints.

      I envy you for your faith in something. Sometimes is lonely to be without faith…

      I can’t wait to see what else you write on the subject!

  5. Pingback: How do I believe? | Desperately Seeking Stacey

Leave a Reply

