Sometimes I let depression suck the joy out of life

Happiness

How many moments of pure exquisite joy have I let pass me by because I was feeling depressed? It could be something as simple as my infant daughter going out of her way to come and plant a little kiss on my cheek, or my wife randomly saying “I love You” as she passes me by on her way to do the dishes.

These moments may seem to be insignificant at first, but when you think of it, all these little experiences add up to make my day a joyful one.

I came across a quote today on Twitter (my new obsession), and I think it adds some interest to my thoughts for the day:

“You can overcome your circumstances or you can let your circumstances overcome you.” ― Richie Norton

Do I let my circumstances (depression) overcome my quest for a little happiness in my life? I think I do, and I don’t think I am the only one. When you are in the midst of a particularly bad episode of depression, anxiety, paranoia, panic, or general angst, it’s hard to think about anything else besides what you are feeling.

How can I change my normal pattern of ignoring the joyful moments that add up to living a happy life?

I don’t have the benefit of therapy to help me, so I, along with my small support system, are the only ones responsible for my recovery. An important part of my recovery is pointing out the obvious flaws in my character and doing something to change it.

I think I made a big step by recognizing one of my flaws and vowing to do something about it. So today, when my daughter comes to give me a kiss, I am going to make an effort to let her know how much she means to me, and when my wife whispers “I love you”, I am going to take her in my arms and make sure she knows that I love her too.

Sometimes it’s the simple things that create happiness in your life.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes I let depression suck the joy out of life

  1. I’ve done it too, and it stinks. Then I went into robot mode and started saying things with no emotion to them, kind of like a computed prompted response. If you wanted to hear an automated voice, it was mine. You’re doing awesome things here by voicing your issues! You sir, deserve a taco… because they are the most perfect food on this planet(in my humble opinion)

Leave a Reply

