The power of positive thought: Things for which I am thankful

More often than not, my mind is stuck in a never-ending cycle of negative thought. When I am feeling bad, my mind only focuses on the evil in my life when I should be thinking how thankful I am for the good.

So today, even though I am currently feeling like a big pile of shit, I want to acknowledge the good in my life in hopes my stinky attitude will change for the better.

I am thankful for my wife. Even though we have our share of problems, like her tendency to fly off the handle and lash out in anger, I love her deeply. Even though we have only been married a little over two years now (one of those years we spent 8500 miles apart) she has become a key part of my support system and I truly don’t know what I would do without her. I didn’t know that feeling of unconditional love I get from her in my first marriage, and I suffered greatly for it. She still has a long way to go in learning how to deal with my issues, but she is great at showing love and understanding.

In addition to my three boys who live in the U.S., I have my newest addition to the family, baby Z. I am 45 years old and I didn’t expect another bundle of joy to grace my life, but she did, and I am blessed every day to be able to stare at the world in wonder through her eyes. If ever I feel like I haven’t done anything with my life, I can look at her innocent face and immediately know that through her I have made a mark and achieved greatness.

Even though I live on the other side of planet earth from them, my parents are a never-ending source of strength in my daily life. We only get to interact on Facebook and Skype, but I look forward every day to talking with them. I do have to put up with the daily poking and prodding to get back in the good graces of the church, but the joy I get from them far outweighs any attempts by them  to make me a good Jehovah’s Witness boy. They are getting up in years, and their daily struggle with MS and arthritis tires them out, but they always take time to make sure I am well, and my little family in paradise is healthy.

I may not be rich, but at least I have food on the table and a roof over my head. I live in a country where many people don’t have the basic things needed for a simple life, and I am thankful that I can provide what little I do for my family. I am also gratified that I can share what little I do have with my new family here in paradise. Too often in my life I lived selfishly, and helping others brings me a deep feeling of satisfaction that makes me smile endlessly.

Finally, I am thankful that I am blessed with WiFi and can connect with others who are going through some of the same painful issues I am struggling with. I’ve only had this blog for almost two months now, but I’ve met so many great people through it. I have been able to add a few great people to my support system, and even though I only may interact with them through comments on my posts, I am honored that they would take the time to be interested in me enough to offer their help. Every day, I can feel the sense of community building around the things I write about, and it makes me, in turn, want to help others who are suffering.

Of course, I have many other things in my life I am thankful for, but it would take me days and weeks to name them all.

Hopefully, I will remember all the great things in my life when my problems smack me to the ground, and I hope you, dear reader, will start to also name and cherish all that you are thankful for when life deals you a bad hand.

10 thoughts on “The power of positive thought: Things for which I am thankful

  1. I’m glad you’re looking towards the positive, and that you have so many blessings in your life to show you how positive it really is! 🙂 You’re special my friend, and you have achieved greatness by doing this blog in my eyes. Your daughter, is a special type of greatness(I’m biased..I have two :-D) Boys are a special type of greatness too, their just messier 😀

    I’m glad things are looking up for you.

    • Thanks so much…..I am feeling a bit better after going back to bed for a while then getting up and rereading what I wrote.

      I got the idea from you and others who have serious issues sometimes yet still look on the brighter side of life.

      Thanks again!

      • I really like your blog, and after reading it I see why. It takes a strong person to admit what you have, and it takes an even stronger person to try and fix it. I’ve seen the pain and inner turmoil that I’ve had. It sucks being on the outside looking in, but it’s so much worse being in the mix and not knowing what to do.

        You are special, there’s no one on this earth like you. No one with your personality, or your quirks that make you who you are. Continue to be amazing sir…because you are.

  2. Alright–I just wanna cry! That’s pretty damned beautiful, Schiz. You started out with the pile of shit, but then you told about the good stuff and I’m thinking, there’s quite a bit of that, with the wife, children, parents, and last but not least: WIFI!!! I hope you’ll just write each of those good things on a piece of paper, put them in a jar on your desk and add to it whenever you think of something else. Then, on those days when all you can see is the shit? . . . 🙂 Thanks for adding a little more sunshine to my day 🙂

      • That’s so cool. I think I’m realizing the more I can see the good (angels) the less I see the bad (monsters). It takes a little effort at first, but I think it may become easier in time if we keep at it.

  3. I actually wrote a things I’m thankful for post on my blog too, if you ever have time pleas feel free to check it out. This is really sweet, it’s nice to see someone who appreciates their family as much as you do. Well done for writing this.

    • Thanks for coming by….I read the first part of your post earlier and commented, and just read part two. Thank you for being so honest. I believe we all need to be as honest as possible in our writing. It helps erase the ignorance that thrives in the world.

      Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

