Zero-to-Hero day 21: A quote can say many things about depression

Michelle from the Daily Post gave us this assignment for day 21 of the Zero-to-Hero challenge:

Publish a post inspired your post from Day 19, and publicize it on one or more of your social networks.

On day 19 I published an aside with this quote from Jonathan Davis:

“A lot of people don’t realize that depression is an illness. I don’t wish it on anyone, but if they would know how it feels, I swear they would think twice before they just shrug it.”

Depression

Many people dismiss depression as something that can be changed or stopped with little or no effort. They say, “Just snap out of it” or “Think of something else, that will take your mind off of it”. What they don’t realize is that depression is an insidious illness that saps your strength and pollutes every thought in your mind. You wouldn’t tell someone with cancer to just “Snap out of it”.

Even now in 2014 there is a dangerous stigma surrounding depression. On Wikipedia.com, stigma is defined as:

A severe social disapproval of personal characteristics or beliefs that are against cultural norms.

Why is stigma dangerous? The more negative energy around depression, the less people who suffer from it are willing to get help because they don’t want to be perceived as “different” or “damaged”. One of the worst things for someone suffering with depression is having to fight labels placed on them by people who are ignorant and set in their views.

The stigma around depression challenges us as bloggers and writers to change peoples’ minds. We have a great tool here at WordPress and a huge audience. Let’s do our best every day to fight stigma in it’s many forms and erase it from everybody’s thoughts!

Catching Up
The past couple of days I have been working on writing the stories of my first hospitalization, and my second in parts one and two. It was a long grueling process that brought back a lot of feelings I had buried deep-down for a very long time. I was amazed at how much I forgot about my time in treatment. I spent much time outside smoking, where I do some of my best thinking. Hopefully I did the stories justice, because they are a very important part of my life.

I finally broke the 100 mark on my number of followers! I have also gained a few more followers on Twitter. No one has clicked the like box for Facebook in my sidebar, so if you have it, please like my Fan Page.

Have a wonderful day and Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

