Irritable Bowel Syndrome – I’m really gonna go there

Toilet Bowel - Your friendPeople who suffer from anxiety disorders and panic attacks may experience some symptoms that no one ever likes to talk about. I myself have no problem talking about pooping, so strap yourselves in. I hope you didn’t eat before you read this.

I have suffered from irritable bowel syndrome since I was a child. For me, it starts out with horrible belly cramps and ends with me running to the bathroom with explosive diarrhea. Some people get constipated and I would prefer that to shitting my big-boy pants on a regular basis. To this day, I still carry an emergency pair of underwear with me wherever I go.

I always hated getting it while I was at school, because for some reason, there were never any doors on the stalls in the boy’s restroom. Anyone could walk in and see you slumped over and sweating with your pants around your ankles. Then you have to see that person in the hallway, and you know the image they have in their minds of you from then on. It’s the same image they tell all their friends about, even the little girl you have always had a secret crush on.

As an adult, I’m not as self-conscious as I was when I was a child, but I still do worry when I have to take a really hideous dump. Sadly, there always seems to be someone in the stall next to you and they have to hear your butt symphony in all its glory. Then there is the smell. A courtesy flush is always needed, but it doesn’t always remove the smell from the room. You know that it is leaking out and affecting everyone who is either in the bathroom, or about to enter. Then it sticks to your clothes even after you leave from the restroom.

Why am I talking about this? Symptoms of a mental illness are not always in your head. Some of the worst ones are physical and IBS is one of those. Some people have IBS and don’t know it. They just assume that the diarrhea was caused by something else.

If you are suffering from IBS, I am sad to say there is no cure, but still mention it to your doctor because there are some things you can do to alleviate the problem. For further information, there is great information in the Irritable Bowel Syndrome Health Center on WebMD.com.

7 thoughts on “Irritable Bowel Syndrome – I’m really gonna go there

  1. I had no idea that mental illness was connected to IBS. I was diagnosed with IBS when i was 14, which explains a lot once i think about it 😛 Love it ❤

Leave a Reply

