Living your dreams despite limitations

My daughter has been watching this movie every day for a while now, so I have had the chance to almost memorize it. Turbo is about a snail with dreams of going fast like his idol, an Indy race car driver. Despite obstacles, he lives his dream in a spectacular way. This movie teaches you that you can live your dream no matter how big it is, or how small you are.

A mental illness can make a personal feel small. It can also distract you from your dreams, because you tend to focus on living with your symptoms. Someone with depression for example, feels hopeless and lost, and tends to push personal goals away in favor of just trying to make it through each day alive.

In spite of all of the problems that living with Schizoaffective Disorder has caused me, I still have dreams. Because of all of the symptoms of my disease, I spent my life just trying to make other peoples’ dreams come true and tossed my mine by the roadside. Since I was a child, I idolized writers and wanted to be just like them. When it came time to go to college, I already had a family and I pushed my dreams of becoming a writer aside in favor of a more lucrative course of study. After college, my illness got much worse and I just focused on trying to make it through each day and support my growing family.

Yes, I had many obstacles, and I did the easy thing and pushed my dreams aside to live another day. Now, in my 40’s, I have a chance to finally attempt to make my childhood fantasy a reality. I may never write a novel, like my heroes of old, but I can be a blogger. Blogging has given me a sense of satisfaction and made me push aside my obstacles and focus on my dream of being a writer.

Having a blog may not be a big deal to everyone, but for me it is a dream come true. Every time I add a follower, I get a wonderful sense of satisfaction that I envision a writer having when their novel becomes a bestseller. I still have a mental illness, but I am trying to live my dreams in spite of my limitations.

Do you have obstacles that you push aside to be a blogger? Please leave a comment and share your dreams with me.

 +++++++

This was an exercise for the Zero-to-Hero 30 day challenge. Today the assignment was:

Publish a post that includes a new-to-you element

I usually try to add a photo or quote to each post so today I added a video from youtube. It was much easier than I expected it to be and I really like how it turned out.

Looking forward to tomorrow’s challenge!

12 thoughts on “Living your dreams despite limitations

  1. Great Job on the challenge. Isn’t it so funny how kids get caught up watching the same movie over and over? I am still trying to figure out how to embed a link when I try it is not working, and it shows up with the actual link…

    • For some reason the video worked the first time I embedded it. Sorry to hear you are having trouble.

      My daughter has a whole bunch of movies she watches over and over. My wife and I are constantly saying lines from the movies because we have them memorized.

      Thanks for coming by again.

  2. My video worked great, pics worked great, pinterest worked great just not a actual link LOL. that is on my sonyaliraphotography.com one..

  3. I’m just into my 30’s and living with schizoaffective disorder and borderline personality disorder, I am constantly assessing and re-evaluating my limitations, dreams, and goals. An example is that I love children, I worked in an after school childcare program for 3 years but can’t do that anymore due to my illness. I’m gay so no kids, plus terrified I’s pass the schizoaffective or any mental illness down to them. But I know one of my sister’s will have kids and I can be the best auntie I can be. I also have an 11 year old neighbor that’s an only child that I hang out with when his parents are over here.

    • Excellent, I follow your blog and have been hoping you would find me. I guess I should have left a comment. Thank you for sharing your story with me and I have to say, I really look forward to digging through your archives.

      I hope to see you around the blogging community!

Leave a Reply

