Why do I Blog?

I woke up at 2:30 AM, ready for my first day of the Daily Posts’ Zero-to Hero 30 day ChallengeDay one assignment is to write an intro post.

Uh Oh…

Since I started this blog a month ago, I’ve tried to stay as secretive as possible about who I am. The reason is that I want to be as honest as possible about my mental health problems and my life in general. But, there are certain people who I would rather not know the intimate details of my life.

There is a bit of information I can give my readers that does not give away my identity:

1. Why did I start this blog? Over the years I have not only filled up pages and pages of spiral notebooks with scribblings about my life, but I have been the owner several blogs too. But, the past few years I have been dealing with a lot of depression and anxiety, so I have not written anything. The last few months the medication I take has been helping somewhat and I have felt the pull of writing again. I wanted to have a blog where I could write down my feelings, no matter how personal, and have people who might understand read and comment on them.

2.  What topics do I think I will write about? I was diagnosed with Schizoaffective Disorder about 10 years ago. If you clicked the link you will see that this disease causes me, in short, to have major depression, racing thoughts, auditory hallucinations, paranoia and anxiety. It affects not only me, but the family and friends in my life.

I also want to write about my new family and the country I have settled in, which I call Paradise. I left the U.S. a few years ago to find greener pastures, and I found a great place to hang my hat.

3. What do you want to accomplish with your blog? I want to join the community of bloggers who write about mental health issues and do my part to destroy the stigma that surrounds it. I also want to use my blog as a place where I can connect with others who understand, and not only aid in my recovery from this horrible condition, but help others who suffer like I do every day.

I also hope to become a better writer. I know right now I am mediocre at best, but one day I hope to have my blog featured on Freshly Pressed. I also hope to gather all the posts I write and put them together for a book about my life. It’s a big dream, but I know I can do it.

4. But, who are you? For now, I wish to keep my identity secret, but I will tell you I am a husband, father, son, brother and friend. I may be the big, ugly white guy you see walking down the street with his head down. Names are unimportant, it’s the person inside I want everyone to know.

I look forward to the remaining days of the Zero-to-Hero challenge and getting to know everyone.

Follow me on Twitter, @SchizoIncognito

5 thoughts on “Why do I Blog?

  1. Hi. I found your blog through the Zero to Hero challenge. I like your about and think it’s awesome and brave that you want to blog openly about mental illness. The world needs more people like you!

  2. I found you through the zero to hero challenge, I think you’ve done a great job on your blog. I like your about the blog text widget, I’m still trying to figure out how to make one.

Leave a Reply

