A long December

A long December and there’s reason to believe
Maybe this year will be better than the last
Counting Crows

I love videoke, but today I feel so numb that the words sound hollow as I sing them. My wife’s family is having a reunion and I am upstairs hiding out. I can’t even bring myself to smile politely. It’s best if I am alone. They don’t mind. I only speak English and they prefer to speak in their native tongue.

I can’t wait till this year is over. It hasn’t been all bad, but this is one chapter of my life I would like to close.

+++++++++++++++

I wrote the previous paragraph yesterday when we were at the farm.

Baby Z (my daughter) was up crying all night last night. I was up for most of it, but my wife F hung in there with her all night. I tried to help, but Baby Z only wanted her mom.

Today in paradise it is New Years Eve (we are a day ahead of the U.S.), and we have a big party to go to tonight. The party starts at 7:30 PM and goes for most of the night. My little family is used to going to bed early and getting up early so this will be a hard night for us. I wonder how late we will make it? F is very tired now, so I am going to force her to take a nap, so we can enjoy ourselves. Well, I am going to try and enjoy myself, I still am having issues. Hopefully I can get drunk enough to make it through. I don’t normally drink, but the party is just outside in the street, so I don’t have to drive anywhere. Hopefully the medication I take will mix well with whatever I drink. Last time I imbibed I got very sick.

I was going to discuss my new years resolutions, but I think I’ll save it for tomorrows post. I don’t normally make resolutions but this year I am going to try it, see how it goes.

Yesterday’s reunion started out bad for me, but I ended up having a pretty good time with F’s family. The food was excellent, as usual. I ended up sitting with all the men of the group who were drinking like there was no tomorrow. I didn’t understand most of what was said, but it was nice that they asked me to sit with them. We left early because Baby Z was fussy.

Running out of time……

Leave a Reply

