Daily Prompt: Unexpected – My brother

Daily Prompt: UnexpectedUnexpectedly, you lose your job. (Or a loved one. Or something or someone important to you.) What do you do next?

 

I was driving faster than I normally do and faster than I should be in this traffic. If I get stopped by the police, I know I will get a DUI. I have a hideous case of medication hangover. I don’t normally get up this early. In fact I never really get up at all. But my dads call shook me awake and I got out of my bed, got dressed and got in my car to make the 30 minute drive to my parents house. I was playing the call over and over in my head as I drove, not really concentrating on the road like I should be.

“Your brother died last night. You better come over”

I didn’t know how I should feel, because I have never really lost anyone in death that close to me. I should probably be crying, but my stoned brain wouldn’t let me yet. My brain was numb. Nothing would wake it up but time, even the large coffee I stopped and purchased at Dunkin Donuts on the way.

When I arrived at my parents house, the front door was open, so I opened the screen door and let myself in. Dad was sitting in his chair with his feet up as always. It was the only position that was semi-comfortable for him now that the MS had taken over his body. He was crying and so was mom. This wasn’t a drill. It was true. My brother was dead.

I started to cry.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Unexpected – My brother

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unexpected – Heartbroken | Words 'n Pics

  2. Pingback: Prayer Is A Good Start, But Not The Finish | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: The stuff of Surfer Rob’s nightmares | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unexpected | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: Unexpected… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

